San Sebastian

25 Nov

So it’s been a while since I updated my blog, but I’ve decided to revive it. It will focus primarily on poker, but also some of my other two passions in life; travels and dining experiences 🙂

I’ve not played much live poker in the last few weeks, so I’ve been taking time to catch up with friends and family and travel a bit instead.

My most recent trip was to San Sebastian. It was somewhere I’d wanted to go for quite a while now, so I was really excited to see if it lived up to my expectations.

IMG_6352.JPG

San Sebastian

We originally flew into Bilbao and then it is an hour coach to San Sebastian itself. Alternatively you could jump on a train, but ironically it takes longer than the coach as there are too many scheduled stops.

The place sits on the coast with nice beaches and vistas and is famous for it’s amazing food and restaurants.

Unfortunately, it rained non-stop for the first two days we were there, and it was cloudy too but this didn’t dampen our enjoyment and we still managed to have-lots of fun.

img_6211

Exploring San Telmo

Armed with recommendations from friends and the hotel, we headed to San Telmo which is the old town area of San Sebastian.

There is street after street of pinxtos and tapas bars and we headed to Borda Berri to begin with. 

A bustling place where you just find a spot to perch ask for a red wine and then pick some tapas. We started with foie gras which was amazing, followed up with some great braised pork, seafood risotto and octopus. We ended up returning there 3 times over the weekend the food was that good!

IMG_6218.JPG

Foie Gras – the best I had!

Now the most amazing thing is that each dish is either 3.30 euros or 3.80 euros and wine is 2 euros! For quality of food for the price it is easily the best value of anywhere I have been.

The Saturday we spent exploring the town, heading around the coast to the port and stopping for tapas and wine at various spots throughout.

You find you settle down for hours at a time in a tapas place and lose track of time in food and wine. Another day was over before we knew it…

IMG_6231.JPG

Pintxos Bar

Sunday was still rainy and we were booked into Mugaritz. We were excited to try this restaurant as it was ranked 7th in world and holds a couple of Michelin stars.

The tasting menu was 25 course & very wide array of different dishes. I know it sounds  a lot but they are rather small and I’ve managed to eat or at least try  all of them 🙂

Most of the dishes were seafood based and some were pretty unusual to say the least.

IMG_6288.JPG

Lunch at Mugaritz

Part of the dinning experience and the highlight of the meal for me at least was having an opportunity to visit the kitchen; which is split across 3 floors and has a mind boggling 44 staff on any given day.

Overall the meal was good and a great experience, however it wasn’t amazing, or worth the money we paid in my opinion.

I’ve been lucky enough to have eaten in significantly better places for less.

IMG_6336.JPG

Sunshine is out!

We rounded off Sunday with more tapas and wine at one of our trip favorites –  Atari Gastroteka and Monday the sun came out finally. It showed the town in a new light. I can imagine it is really great here in summer, so we will definitely be heading back for that and enjoying the beaches, and more wine and tapas.

This weekend I’m heading to Zurich to see friends and then I’m going to be visiting Bucharest for the first time which I’m very excited about.

BP2-BUHPD-Creative-Labs-Shutterstock-Bucharest-is-an-up-and-coming-city-filled-to-the-brim-with-exciting-sights-and-activities.-Check-out-our-top-5-list.jpg

Bucharest

I’m there for 6 days and I’m playing the Unibet Open which promises to be a great event and I’ll probably jump in some side events too.

My next blog promises to be a mixture of poker and travel, as for the culinary delights of Romania, well we shall wait and see…

 

2 Responses to “San Sebastian”

  1. Touagorimou November 27, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

    Very interesting look forward to your next one

    Like

Leave a Reply

UhlenPoker

Just another WordPress.com site

Doking around in cyberspace

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

D K Lappin

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

Thinking Poker

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

CardPlayer.com Blogs

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

