Unibet Ladies Battle Royale

9 Dec

I was kindly invited by Unibet to participate in their Ladies Battle Royale which was an invitation-only side event and part of the Unibet Open Bucharest stop.

I was very excited and looking forward to this event as I’m a big fan of ladies only tournaments as I believe it is a great way to promote the game as well as attract more female players to poker; plus they are always so very enjoyable 🙂

15267998_1267741849915323_4601225052538053793_n

Unibet Ladies Battle Royale

The concept for the event was pretty simple; it was a 9 handed sit & go, with 6,000 prizepool and top 3 places paid.

What made this Ladies Challenge fascinating & unique is that it had a great mix of poker players, poker enthusiasts & female gamers alike from very different backgrounds .

There were 7 different European nationalities represented at the event with each female bringing their unique playing style and personality to the table. There was no doubt this was going to be a great fun poker experience!

Here’s a link to a mini bio of all participants: Unibet Ladies Battle Roayale 2016

15230587_10157678711490062_795022970194651337_n

Despite most of the girls meeting each other for the first time on the day of the challenge, unsurprisingly there was a lively atmosphere at the table from the very start. All of us were chatting and joking away whilst learning more about each other.

A great structure of a 20k starting stack & 40min levels ensured that there would be lots of play and there was no rush to aggressively accumulate chips or flip for your tournament life early doors.

I find it is always such a good confidence boost to have a great start on the day, which I was lucky to have on this occasion; I got allocated the best starting seat at the table – the button, and then I scooped the first pot too.

I felt great and it seemed like a good time to order a glass of wine. This may have been a recurring theme through the game 😉

15232125_1267742116581963_8221456111529600411_n

Focused – prob thinking of a 3bet:)

My strategy for this event was rather conservative in the early stages and to aim to gradually build my stack whilst avoiding high variance spots.

I felt that I had a post-flop advantage versus the majority of players, an exception being a very talented & experienced Romanian poker player Luciana Manolea, who was sitting to my immediate right.

The plan was to avoid any major early confrontations with her unless I had a premium starting hand and play a wider range of hands versus the rest of the table.

Unfortunately that meant I had to hold myself back from light 3betting which was especially hard to adhere to from the SB v Luciana’s button opens but that’s ok as I was saving those moves for the Main Event instead:)

30531772723_5b2c1b447f_z

Linnea on the left & the runner-up Kristi on the right

All the girls were lovely and they played well, however I was especially impressed with Linnea Maria from Norway, who despite having very little poker experience showed some very strong & ballsy moves and was enjoying herself to the max.  I think she has certainly lots of poker potential:)

We were having so much fun and time was flying by so quickly, before I knew it we were on the the money bubble with 4 players left.

One of the most enjoyable aspects of the Unibet Ladies Battle Royale format compared to some other ladies events I played in the past was that it was being streamed live on Twitch with a 15min delay & live commentary.

With Marc Convey and David Vanderheyden providing witty and insightful commentary, as well as Unibet promotions for viewers and an active chat box of banter and predictions I’m hoping this kind of format will attract more and more poker players into the game and feel part of a growing community which Unibet is fostering.

You can find the replay of the Ladies Challenge and many other fun broadcasts on the Unibet Twitch Channel.

15317750_10157744966970062_1226362275641384803_n

Dehlia & I being silly off the tables:)

It was also a great feeling knowing that you had lots of family and friends railing and bringing some run good to the stream. This was also an extra motivation for me to keep on playing my A game and try my utmost to win.

We were 4 handed for quite a while before Dehlia de Jong from Netherlands ended up being the bubble girl. I was sad to see her go in 4th; I thought she played well and got unlucky to run top pair into 2pair (sb v bb) to bust. I liked her as a person a lot and I feel we really bonded throughout the game so I was secretly railing her to cash.

Although I barely lost the chip lead throughout the whole tournament, when 3 handed the stacks were becoming a bit shallower & play much faster.

The fact that I was covering both of them enabled me to play more hands and put max pressure on my opponents for their tournaments lives. I could also afford to run a couple of bluffs, even if they didn’t always work 😉

31303401426_700d10b18a_z

Maret – 3rd place finisher

Both Estonian girls seemed to have adjusted to short handed play rather well and were playing aggressively also, especially against each other.

I ended up taking out Maret Komarova (the Unibet Ladies Challenge last years winner) in 3rd with my pocket 9,9 v her 10,6 button shove. It was a nice time to pick up a hand and hold.

Heads up lasted just 2 hands- fortunately my close friend and study buddy Dara O’Kearney  had just arrived from the airport in time for the victory. I got it all in with a big chip lead with A,5 suited against J,8 and busted Kristi Kirs in second and I was the winner!

Well done to both girls for cashing and thanks for being a great company at the table ♥ Here is a little youtube video of the Ladies Battle Royale

I was really pleased to win the event and also bag a Romanian flag for the Hendonmob. I hope the Twitch stream made for interesting viewing and gave a good insight into how much fun can be had in the relaxed fun atmosphere that Unibet had created for this tournament.

30535143093_0e4ae8a012_z.jpg

Winner winner 🙂

I really hope the ladies invitational in some capacity will become a regular feature on the Unibet Open tour. Anything that encourages women of all abilities to play poker can only be a good thing in this hugely male dominated game.

I spent the evening celebrating the win with (yet more wine:) and a nice meal with friends. It had a been a memorable and fun way to start the trip and I was looking forward to the main event after a day off exploring Bucharest.

All this and more in my next blog covering the rest of the awesome Bucharest Unibet Open leg….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

UhlenPoker

Just another WordPress.com site

Doking around in cyberspace

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

D K Lappin

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

Thinking Poker

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

CardPlayer.com Blogs

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

My Adventures in Poker & Travels

